Twelve Classics for 2016

blindspot16

Taking a cue from several other blogs that I follow (including Speakeasy and Now Voyaging), I’ve decided to participate in the 2016 Blind Spot Series, so I’ve put together a list of new-to-me classics that I intend to watch in upcoming year. Several of them have been in my Hulu and Netflix queues or on my DVR for ages, so now I’ll have more of an initiative to watch them instead of putting them off yet again. For the record, I’m limiting myself to movies made before 1970 and movies to which I know I’ll have access. Here they are in order of release, though not necessarily the order in which I’ll watch them:

I plan to watch one per month, after which I’ll write up my thoughts. It should be fun!

11 thoughts on “Twelve Classics for 2016

    1. Thank you! I actually started Metropolis a long time ago, took a break and never went back to it — I don’t remember why, because I didn’t dislike it — so I’m looking forward to seeing the whole thing. As for I Am a Fugitive, I plan to record it from TCM in February, so I’ll watch it at some point after that. If you get around to watching it by then, I’d like to hear your thoughts as well.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Hiroshima Mon Amour is one of the movies that I’m most excited to see. It’s on TCM this upcoming Sunday night/Monday morning (in the U.S. — not in Canada, unfortunately), so I’ll record it and will probably watch it soon. I’m excited to hear what you think of it too, as another first time viewer.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Haven’t seen all of these but of the ones I have The Innocents is a wonderful, eerie film and I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang is excellent with a brilliant performance by Paul Muni. The other standout for me is Wages of Fear which is just amazingly tense, if you like it William Friedkin directed a remake of it in the 70’s called Sorcerer. It’s not quite up to the original’s brilliance but another taut adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting looking list – I’ve only heard of half of these titles. The Innocents is also on my list (January post) – great film. Also, great to see Metropolis here too – the dawn of sci-fi – at least after Voyage to the Moon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed The Innocents, and I enjoyed reading your post on it. It’s one of those movies that I’ve wanted to see for a long time, although I might save it until October so that I can watch it around Halloween. Metropolis might be the biggest blind spot on here, so I’m glad that you recommend that one too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

