Liebster Awards

isl9p9x

Keisha of Cinema Cities and Virginie of The Wonderful World of Cinema have both nominated me for a Liebster Award. Thanks so much! As such, I’m supposed to answer the eleven questions that they created, list eleven facts about myself and nominate up to eleven other blogs to answer my own eleven questions.

First, here are my answers to Keisha’s questions:

  1. Your favorite film composer, and your favorite of their scores? Nino Rota, though I don’t really have a favorite score. I always associate him with Fellini, but he also did great work on The Godfather, The Leopard, Purple Noon and quite a few others. My first exposure to his work was when we watched Romeo and Juliet in ninth grade English.
  2. Do you share a birthday with any famous actors, actresses, or directors? If so who? A few, but not anyone who’s a particular favorite or anything: Kevin Bacon, Anjelica Huston, Marty Feldman, Eugene Pallette (the most significant classic film name I could find)…
  3. Your favorite genre, and your favorite movie from that genre? Hmm… I don’t watch a ton of any one specific genre. For the sake of picking something, I’ll go with screwball comedy and Bringing Up Baby.
  4. What movie(s) started your love for movies? It’s hard to pinpoint a specific movie or movies, but I watched a lot of period dramas in high school — Jane Austen adaptations and all that — and everything sort of branched out from there when I went to college and had easy access to the library’s DVD collection. That was where I first saw Casablanca, The Philadelphia Story, Singin’ in the Rain and quite a number of other movies, old and new. After that, I got into TCM, and then the Criterion Collection.
  5. Your favorite movie about the movie business? is my favorite movie in general, so this is an easy choice. 🙂
  6. One film you’d love to see on the big screen? Any film that I love, really, but I think a Technicolor Powell and Pressburger would be ideal – either Black Narcissus or The Red Shoes.
  7. Your favorite movie musical number? I’ve always been partial to “Cool” from West Side Story, but pretty much anything from West Side Story works for this question.
  8. What’s one acclaimed movie (either old or more recent) that you couldn’t get into? Sansho the Bailiff. I wasn’t bored by it or anything, but I’d heard such high praise for it that I was expecting to be blown away, and I wasn’t.
  9. Your favorite book-to-film adaptation? If I only count films based on books that I’ve read, I guess it would be Woman in the Dunes. It’s one of those rare cases where I actually prefer the film, although that may be because I had already watched it several times before I read the book.
  10. Is there an actor, actress, or director whose filmography you’ve completed? Or, who’s an actor, actress, and/or director that you’d watch any film for? I don’t think I’ve completed any actors’ or actresses’ filmographies, but I have seen all of Montgomery Clift’s movies except for Wild River, which is currently on my DVR. Director-wise, I’ve seen everything by Jean Vigo (it all fits on one DVD!) and Jacques Tati, not counting some of the alternate versions of Tati’s features. I also only have one Truffaut (two if you count his first short, Une Visite) and one non-lost Ozu left to watch — though I just read that a nearly complete print of Ozu’s A Straightforward Boy has been discovered, so I’ll have to see that sometime. As for the second question, Bette Davis was the first name that sprang to mind, but there are a lot of others – too many to list, in fact.
  11. If you were TCM’s guest programmer for the night, what four films would you choose to showcase? Ooh, tough one. Just picking my top four is too easy, so I’ll go for a little variety by picking some favorites almost at random: The Face of Another, Playtime, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg and Loves of a Blonde. (Yes, I realize that they’re all from the mid-sixties.)

And now for Virginie’s questions:

  1. What is your favourite blogathon? I’m not sure if I can pick a favorite overall — they always lead me to a lot of great posts and blogs, no matter what the topic — but my favorite thing I’ve ever written for a blogathon was my Antoine Doinel series for the Criterion Blogathon last year.
  2. What subject do you like the most to write about on your blog? François Truffaut and Yasujirô Ozu have become my pet subjects. Speaking generally, I like writing about movies that I love; I may not have anything particularly insightful to say, but at least I can bring them to people’s attention. I also enjoy interacting with people who comment on my posts.
  3. What is your current movie character crush (not movie actor, movie character)?
    Would it be weird if I said Kaji from The Human Condition? Because that’s what I’m going to say. (I’m sure I’m forgetting a lot of others.)
  4. Do you wear perfume? If yes, which one? Once in a while. I have a few, but my favorite is probably Sensuous by Estée Lauder.
  5. Can you sing? (I mean, can you sing well lol)? Not really!
  6. Do you play a musical instrument? I played the flute for eight years in school, but I haven’t touched it recently. I also took guitar lessons in tenth grade.
  7. What is your favourite cinematographic moment? It can be something that lasts just 3 seconds in a film. This is another impossible-to-answer question. One that did pop into my head was that rather startling moment in La Jetée when the woman opens her eyes. (The film is made up of still photographs apart from that.)
  8. Have you ever written fan mail? Did you receive any answers? Last year I wrote a letter to Jean-Pierre Léaud care of the Cinémathèque Française because I read on their blog that I could, but I didn’t get a response.
  9. When you started your blog, do you remember what was the first blog you followed and what was the first blog to follow you? I don’t remember, to be honest.
  10. What is the last book you read? A Lost Lady by Willa Cather.
  11. What would be your dream house? I’ve always liked Victorian houses with turrets.

Eleven facts about me:

  1. I’m currently studying French, Spanish and Italian online.
  2. Tennis is my favorite sport (not that I’m any good at it), and I’ve been to the US Open four times.
  3. My favorite book is either I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith or To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
  4. I saw Paul McCartney in concert this summer, which was great fun.
  5. My goal is to write novels.
  6. I drink an absurd amount of tea.
  7. My favorite color is green.
  8. I used to proofread court transcripts for ten cents a page.
  9. I majored in English.
  10. The only pet I’ve ever had was a goldfish, which died after jumping out of its bowl.
  11. My most-played song on iTunes is “Boys Don’t Cry” by the Cure.

My nominated blogs in alphabetical order:

And finally, my questions:

  1. If you could have any job in the film industry, what would it be?
  2. What movie surpassed your expectations the most? Or, if you prefer, what movie was your biggest disappointment?
  3. Are there any black and white movies that you wish had been shot in color, or vice versa?
  4. How many movies do you watch in the average week?
  5. What movie — new or old, available or not — do you most want to see but haven’t yet?
  6. What’s your favorite opening scene or opening shot of a film?
  7. What’s the best movie you’ve watched in the past month or so?
  8. Do you prefer to watch movies with other people or alone?
  9. What’s your favorite film-related book?
  10. What movie have you watched more times than any other?
  11. What’s your favorite movie that takes place in winter?

Thanks again!

9 thoughts on “Liebster Awards

  1. Love your answers, especially what you said about blogging in Virginie’s second question, I feel the same way about my blogging.

    Also, I love tea too! I’m really not a coffee person at all (I’ll have Starbucks every now and then when the occasion calls for it), but I’ll usually have a cup of tea every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the nomination! Great questions, too – I shall have to think about them. However, if I could have any job in the film industry, it would be in the scriptwriting department, even if my job were to look after the supplies at the coffee station.

    You proofread court transcripts?! I bet you came across some VERY interesting things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome. You certainly deserve it! I think I would probably choose something related to scriptwriting too. As for the court transcripts, yes, I came across a wide variety of things — some of them very unpleasant, some tedious, some just odd. It was an interesting experience, but nothing that I’d want to do forever.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Rolling Out our Red Carpet – Silver Screenings

Leave a Reply

